“I was running” – 167 to go

Well, it’s been three days since I signed up for my first full marathon and I’m on my way. I’ve run three days in a row, at least a 1/2 mile each time without stopping. And I’ve actually been enjoying it. Considering I’ve never run more than a mile in my entire life – that’s a huge accomplishment for me.

I thought I hated running. I mean, I used to hate running. The only reason I’ve run in the past is because someone made me run. You know – like in high school fitness testing, or my husband’s boot camp. This is the first time in my life I’ve run because I want to run. Talk about a change. A welcome change.

Jim and I went to watch a friend compete in a cycling race this morning and after standing around for a while, I just started running. It was chilly outside and I wanted to get warmed up. WTF? I just started running?!? What’s gotten into me?

“Now you wouldn’t believe me if I told you, but I could run like the wind blows. From that day on, if I was ever going somewhere, I was running!” – Forrest Gump

That’s all I have to say about that.

6 thoughts on ““I was running” – 167 to go

  1. Wow, congrats on such a fantastic goal! Kudos to you for taking the initiative and high five for the great, I mean great, movie quotes in your blogs. :)

Leave a Reply

